Hey June Santa Fe Top

20160702_190019-1

I am on a roll! Newly added to my list of TNT patterns is the Hey June Santa Fe top down – a loose flowy tank or dolman sleeve top with side insets for color or fabric blocking options. After seeing the pattern tester roundups, I decided I needed to have View E in my closet. Not only is View E cute, but it is super easy to put together with only 6 pieces including the neck and arm bindings.

I cut a straight XS due to the large amounts of ease. The only changes I made were to turn the neck and arm bindings into facings, and shorten the hem by 3″. I tried the neck binding at first but found it a little bulky. I had trouble unpicking the seams though, so I cut the binding off and cut a a new piece to use as a band. Unfortunately, I didn’t account for the increased length of the neck opening so the neckband was too short and causes some gathering in the front. As for the hem, it actually falls at the right place – below the hips – according to the pattern envelope without alterations. However, when pairing them with shorts, the top is so long, it looks like I’m running around without pants on! So out came the scissors…

20160702_190025-1

The inset is made from some scraps left over from a mysterious black knit from one of Fabric Mart‘s bundles. The main fabric is a yarn dyed cotton rayon span jersey blend from LA Finch Fabrics. It curls when cut but I was too impatient to wait for my spray starch to arrive so I went ahead without it. Luckily, with a little bit of pinning, there were no issues. It’s super soft and comfy!

20160702_190031-120160702_130002

This is the original length before I shortened the hem. No good, right? For reference, I am 5’1″, about 5 inches shorter than the woman this is designed for. I was hoping I could get away without shortening as I heard some people around my height didn’t need to, but I think I’m not quite busty enough to pull that off, haha.

20160702_125959

It’s swooshy!

20160702_193014

The lattice window is my go-to backdrop for sewing pictures now but it turns out the Santa Fe top is the perfect top for scrambling around on kid’s playgrounds 🙂

8 thoughts on “Hey June Santa Fe Top

  1. Very cute top! Love the fabric you chose and the contrast is a great detail. Your whole outfit is awesome-perfect for summer! I have the same problem with my tops being too long for shorts but the length you made it seems just right!

    1. Thanks Trish! I did take it out for hiking and other summer activities 🙂 I’m glad it seems right, I panicked for a second right after I cut it shorter…

  2. Looks comfy. Front gathering looks like it’s designed that way 😉 Glad you used the mysterious fabric from the bundle!
    I don’t think I’ve made (or will ever be able to make) non petite sized pattern where I could get away with not making it shorter.

    1. Haha I’m trying to tell myself it looks on purpose too. Yeah that fabric alone was worth the bundle because I used it for a tshirt and now this. But the pieces I don’t like I wish wasn’t taking up space at home. Haha it’s ok because all your makes always turn out so nice and you always look super tall!!

  3. Love your top and that fabric is perfect. I’m short too, and have the same problem . I think the length you chose is spot on.

Leave a Reply

