New to Me – Winslow Culottes

[ I originally wrote this post to participate in the Indie Pattern Month New to Me Contest. Click here to check out the other entries and fun upcoming contests! ]

The Winslow Culottes is probably not only new to me, but new to all of you out there as well! Helen of Helen’s Closet, the creator, is super sweet and has agreed to let me enter my tester’s version of her very first women’s pattern in IPM 2016! With that being said, please keep in mind I sewed this pattern based on the original pattern. It may be altered based on the feedback from all the testers before the final release around July 1st. Also keep in mind how awesome it looks even before any changes 😉

A few weeks ago, I noticed a pattern tester call for the Winslow Culottes on Instagram. I immediately fell for the big pleats and how effortlessly put together they make a person look. However, I already owned a TNT culotte pattern, so I fought the urge to sign up. Helen later posted some more versions of the culottes she had made in different lengths and prints, and by the next day, I had filled out that pattern testing form.

20160606_170844

Luckily, I can say there are no regrets! Here’s the pattern description: “The Winslow Culottes are wide-legged pants designed for ultimate comfort and style. This pattern is intended to be made at any length, from shorts to full length palazzo pants. The design features inseam pockets and inverted box pleats.” While the inseam pockets and inverted box pleats alone are enough to win me over, another feature I really love is how the side seams and hems are straight. Helen points out that this pattern is perfect for easy matching of plaids and stripes – can’t we all use a little help with that? Straight hems are also great so fabrics (or at least rayon challis) don’t stretch all out of shape and hem easily.

20160606_170848

I cut a size 6 at the waist and graded down to a size 4 with no issues. I haven’t heard a lot of comments of sizing issues so far either. My version is View B, which is supposed to be a couple of inches above the knees. Since I am 5’1″ and a good few inches shorter than the woman the pattern is designed for, it pretty much hits me at the knees. I could have shortened it – probably to the length of View A – but I like this look for work paired with heels.

20160606_170913

For the fabric, I used a 100% polyester box weave blouse weight woven challis from FabricMart. While it is “blouse weight” and a little see-through if you hold it up to the light, the pleats seem to do a good job of hiding what needs to be hidden. I love the drape and how comfortable these culottes are. While I went for the more fluid look, structured fabrics can actually be used for the View A shorts as well. Check out all of Helen’s beautiful versions here.

20160606_170920

One last thing I wanted to call out is what a quick sew these are. There are only four pattern pieces total, and as the self-crowned slowest sewist ever, it took me about three days to make them up. I don’t mean full twenty-four hour days or anything like that either – just how ever many hours I could squeeze for each day. I spent one “day” piecing together the pattern and cutting the fabric, the second “day” sewing almost everything together, and the third “day” hemming…

20160606_170948

I really do love my culottes. They look professional at work and allow me to sit cross legged at my desk without feeling too scandalous… Well, I hope you like them as much as I do! If you do, don’t forget to look out for the pattern release coming soon!

12 thoughts on “New to Me – Winslow Culottes

  1. Love them! I wanted to test, too, but wasn’t sure I could do it with the time constraint (darn work!). I wish I took the plunge anyway because I think I need these in my life. I adore how you styled these. 🙂

    1. Thanks Red! Aw wish you did take the plunge to do because they are super fast to make. But I agree, work is the worst when it gets in the way of sewing 🙂

Leave a Reply

