Lindy in the Wild

image

It’s finally spring here in the Northeast!! I seriously lost count of the days that weren’t either rainy or 40 degrees, or both, but my mind isn’t fooled and it is set on all the spring patterns. Cropped trenches, floral dresses… Actually, I have been working on a floral dress, but something went wrong at literally the last step, and I just haven’t been bothered to unpick it yet. After that mess, I needed a quick pick-me-up project, so in came the Lindy Petal Skirt.

The Lindy Petal Skirt is a close fitting knit pencil skirt with an elastic waistband, advertised as a quick sew that can be completed in one night, in time to wear to the office the next day. I can now vouch for that!

I sewed this up in a FabricMart Raspberry Rayon/Poly/Lycra Ponte Knit that has about 60% stretch. I thought I was being so good because I pre-washed and pre-dried the fabric, but I later read somewhere that ponte pills faster if you run it through the dryer – whoops! The pattern is an awesome, FREE pattern by Itch to Stitch, that I’ve been itching (hehe) to try since the day it was released. The diagrams and instructions are super easy to follow. My favorite part though is that it includes how-to’s for grading between sizes and shortening the pattern, since I needed those adjustments. I graded from a size XS at the waist to an S at the hips. In retrospect, however, I actually fall in between sizes at the hip and probably should have just done a straight XS because, hello tummy! I also shortened the pattern by 2″ because I am a shorty at 5’1″. I’m happy with how it looks but I think it would have looked fine longer as well. As it is, it’s probably actually a tad short for office wear!

That sure didn’t stop me though. I wore it to work the next day and to a “guest party” at a dance studio at night. It was one of those rainy, 40 degree nights and I swear I looked like a big dumbass wearing a skirt there. Do any of you ever have the urge to do that? Take something me-made out for a spin regardless of the appropriateness? Needless to say, I didn’t get any good pictures out of it.

I was wearing a sweater and tights at work today, but the moment I got out and realized it was gorgeous weather, I pulled on this skirt to get some pictures in. I even got a backdrop that is not within walking distance of my apartment. So here’s my Lindy in the wild – if you like it, don’t forget to go grab yourself a copy! 😉

image

4 thoughts on “Lindy in the Wild

Leave a Reply

