Help Me Build a Stashbusting App!

I cannot believe it has been two months since my last post! While I don’t have a lot to show for it yet, I have been sewing and/or thinking about sewing!

In March, I got the chance to pattern test Sew DIY’s latest pattern – the Nita wrap skirt. It is a super cute and versatile wrap skirt that has three different length and closure options – I am gaga over the D-ring  one although I had to go with Version A due to my fabric choice. As it has been as low as 20 degrees this past week on the East coast, and snow is expected tomorrow, I haven’t had any photo ops, so these line drawings and pattern tester roundup link will have to do:

Nita+Wrap+Skirt+PDF+Pattern+-+Sew+DIY

I have also been slaving over a floral dress that I’d like to wear to a wedding in August. I say slaving because I am on my third muslin – not to mention, this muslin is LINED – and I know it still needs some tweaking. I am focusing on fit over fast these days so I also started an Instagram account @sewcheesy to track my progress in lieu of blog posts for anyone that might be interested in sneak peeks 🙂 Let me know your username too! I can’t seem to follow enough bloggers to satisfy my inspiration appetite…

All that said and done, back to the real reason for today’s post – I want to build an app for project planning and tracking stashbusting! It has been on my mind for a while now as I love logging steps on my Fitbit and checking out my stats on its gorgeous app – I would like for something similar to motivate me to get sewing.

I could just jump into building it, but I have an ulterior motive. I am currently in grad school studying User Experience Design, where the focus is on the process of understanding the user in order to design a product that is fun, useful and easy-to-use. It would be awesome to add something sewing related to my portfolio.

So, if you are so kind and still reading, would you please help me fill out the survey below so I can see how you might use such an app?

The survey and giveaway are now closed! The winner has been contacted and shipped a copy of Colette’s Sewing Handbook. Thank you everyone for your participation!

CLICK HERE FOR THE SURVEY

And in the spirit of de-stashing, on Saturday, 4/16 at 12ET, I will pick a random winner to receive a copy of Colette’s Sewing Handbook! It walks you through fabric selection, sewing techniques and comes with 5 paper patterns. (Disclaimer: It is pre-owned by me but in like new condition because I don’t have the C-cup her patterns are designed for…) Just enter your email address in the survey to be entered!

51Fbc+5CiVL

7 thoughts on “Help Me Build a Stashbusting App!

  1. Hmm I still don’t have instagram. ….Survey done. Making that app is a brilliant idea! Also…I have that book and haven’t used it and didn’t realize it’s for C cups?! 😥

  2. Ooh what a lovely thought. My email is madebykaty.dressmaking at gmail dot com, I’d love to win that book! And I’m @madebykaty on Instagram. Totally with you on needing more inspiration than blogs can provide! IG is so great like that!

Leave a Reply

