Crazy About (Tania) Culottes!

image

So I hopped on the bandwagon a little late, but I made myself some Tania culottes! A clever design detail in the form of a pleat down the center makes this pair of shorts look like a cute, swishy circle skirt πŸ™‚

There’s not much to say as it is a straightforward pattern with about four pieces. I did take the advice of other bloggers to lengthen the skirt and leaving it to hang before hemming. I cut an XS but took the length of size L. My boyfriend did help me even the hem despite his fears. The only thing I might do differently next time is to use heavier interfacing on the waistband.

image

You can see clearer in this picture that the waistband gets creased and stays creased after a few wears. Or, be honest with me, is it that I need to cut a bigger waistband size?

image

Also, thanks everyone who replied to my last post about the transparency issue. I am wearing a white slip underneath in this picture and it makes a huge difference. Even though the slip is a skirt, it works fine because the crotch is so low in the culottes. Another issue with this fabric choice (rayon challis) is that it wrinkles like crazy! I actually ironed the culottes in between wears the first day I wore it out, which is gross! I’ve met my ironing quota for the year. I thought rayon is not supposed to wrinkle? Or is rayon challis different?

image

image

Overall, most of those complaints being my fault rather than issues with the pattern, I still love this addition to my handmade wardrobe. It is super comfortable and I love that I can feel girly in it without giving up my manly sitting poses. If it is also the first day of summer for you, I would highly recommend adding this pattern to your stash πŸ˜€

9 thoughts on “Crazy About (Tania) Culottes!

  1. I have the same issues with some of my waistbands, it definitely isn’t the size! This came out great, a wonderful summer piece that I’m sure you will get a lot of use out of!

  2. Super cute skirt! And with the experience I’ve had with rayon is that they all wrinkle easily and shrink easily if you machine wash it so I hand wash to be on the safe side. Unfortunately you may always need to iron this skirt. If you get fabric with polyester it won’t wrinkle as much.. great job! πŸ˜„πŸ‘

Leave a Reply

