Defeated by Knits: Simplicity 1716

1716 is a PatternReview’s best pattern of the year, so I had high hopes for it. I combed through all the reviews and took note on sizing issues and tweaks such as choosing one size smaller than your actual measurements (I used sz 10), cutting the back on the fold (I eased the pattern piece 5/8 in off the fold of the fabric to account for seam allowance), and eliminated the “awkward” bust pleat in the armscye. All great tips btw.

The one advice I didn’t take was to eliminate the shoulder pleats and I’m glad because I love them!! Hope you can see them in the picture:

20150424_234122-1_mh1432070294406 (1)

I don’t remember what kind of knit this is – this is what happens when I shop in store and forget to take a pic of the fabric descriptionΒ  – but it’s super soft, a bit see-through and a slippery mess to work with. I also looked up how to deal with slippery fabrics/knits but thought I could get away without those tricks…

You can’t tell from this picture but the stitching around the armholes is very crooked.Β Basically, I like the pattern but chose the wrong fabric for my skill level. I put the project aside for now because I’m crossing my fingers I’ll figure something out for the armholes later. Any suggestions?

15 thoughts on “Defeated by Knits: Simplicity 1716

  1. I always forget to take a pic of the fabric tag…
    The stitching isn’t obvious when it’s worn though, personally I’d still wear it with pride! And perhaps try again with another fabric when you feel like it.

  2. I tried this amen pattern, but as the sleeveless dress version, and it turned out very boxy, with crazy looking armholes. It was also one of my first forays into knits, so maybe it’s the first time plus pattern problem?

  3. It looks like a lovely pattern, with all that draping. Sorry it didn’t turn out for you. 😟. I can’t tell from the photos, did you use bias tape on the armholes? I always find that using the bias tape (not stretchy) helps when I hem up the armholes, along with a longer stitch length. Hopefully you will try knits again someday! πŸ˜ƒ

    1. Thanks Linda πŸ™‚ I didn’t use bias tape on the armholes. That’s interesting, I was considering just buying some non-stretchy bias tape for that but wasn’t sure if it was suitable for knits. I might have to try it! Thanks for the suggestions! And haha to the photo of the fabric label, glad it helps. I’m just lazy and my phone takes nice pics so why not πŸ™‚

  4. Bummer. We have all been there. Knits stink! If the armhole is too gappy, you can add a dart. But maybe this piece would work better as a layering piece with a camisole or tank under it.

  5. Hi Chui, I like all the things you’ve made! And makes me look at my sewing pattern stash and feel ashamed :p
    I’ve nominated you a blogger award because, I really like your blog! No need to respond to it if you don’t want to. Just dropping by and checking if you’re got new creations in store πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

