2015 Sewing Goals

Happy New Years to all!! Can’t believe it’s January already and all those year end holidays are over. It just feels like time flies and there’s not enough of it to do everything I want to, in general and in sewing. Especially since I will be starting grad school in 2015 on top of working full time, I really need to get into the New Years spirit and figure out a game plan to make sure this year’s sewing is all about quality over quantity:

  1. Sew what I need and have difficulty buying off the rack, so pretty much separates like fitted shirts and pants, especially pants since I am five feet short. Dresses are a little more forgiving on height so I have an easier time finding RTW dresses for those rare special occasions. I sewed at least three dresses last year and bought about five more, so I think it’s safe to say I can lay off the dresses this year.
  2. Prewash fabrics and sew muslins. Do all the necessary precautions to avoid being afraid to wash and shrink items that turned out well or wasting nice fabric on clothes that don’t fit. The whole point of my learning to sew is to make pretty clothes for my petite size so I have to accept I can’t just run with preset pattern sizes and brace myself for adjustment after adjustment.
  3. Focus on one or two projects at a time. Rather than spending hours shopping for new patterns and fabrics while I have untouched piles of both at home already and nothing to show for it, I would like to spend more time sewing, fitting and researching for a few specific items.

I’ll leave it at three since the more goals I set, the less likely I am to take action and meet any of them! As for action, this is what I’ve been up to so far, trying to meet my goals:

1) First Project of 2015: McCall’s M6610 Jeans

Like I said, I need separates. RTW jeans are usually six inches too long for me so I can’t keep up with trends like the cute brightly colored jeans. I decided to take matters into my own hands and pick up this pretty Pacific Stretch Denim from Fabric.com as well as the McCall’s jeans pattern.

20141221_183726

What else was on my list? Oh yeah, muslins. I got that covered, too. Sneak peek of my second muslin for this pair of jeans.

20150102_162904_mh1420264581603

The envelope of the pattern might say Petite, but I had to make a few adjustments to fit my thighs and slim down the legs. I am going for a skinny fit, although I overdid it a little at the knees! I haven’t followed the instructions for installing the fly or pockets yet, so I can’t comment on the Easy yet, although I am hopeful from existing online reviews. I will be taking apart this muslin to adjust the pattern for the final version, so, crossing my fingers!

Last but not least, for the second project, I’ve taken a dive and purchased a personalized blouse pattern Lekala, the Russian patterns site that sends you custom sized patterns based on your bust, underbust, waist and full hip measurements, for a mere $2.49. Over two episodes of The Office, I’ve printed and pieced together the PDF, cut out all the pattern pieces and packed them away for later. Can’t wait to get to that after the jeans! Check out the drawing from Lekala:

1706_technical_drawing_10911

And that’s it for now! Thanks for reading! šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “2015 Sewing Goals

    1. Thank you! I have started on it but my bad on rushing the muslin so it looks a little wonky. I think the pattern has very little ease but it’s pretty promising for now šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

