Self-Drafted Tulip Dress

20141209_205130_mh1418266280826

It has its imperfections and didn’t turn out exactly as I imagined but it’s done! Well, it’s been done for a while, I just finally got some pictures of and in it along with some pictures of all the problems I encountered and new techniques I tried.

20141114_080519

I originally wanted to use satin for the fabric. It was selling for $4 a yard at Joann’s and the color was so pretty! I spent a day reading up on how to sew with satin, from using extra-fine pins to lining satin with satin. Sewing satin was still fine but ironing it was a nightmare for me, especially after adding the lining. Look how poofy and ridiculous it looks!

20141118_081431

I decided to use the satin for some more practice instead and buy different fabric for the final version. Above is my first satin half-circle midi skirt with an invisible zipper on the side not shown.

20141129_103947

Then I tried my hand with the rolled hem foot… and fell in love! I need more practice though with the start and end. 😐

20141122_190053

Finally went back to sewing the dress with my new fabric. I don’t remember the percentage but it was a blend of cotton and polyester. The lining kept puckering as I sewed. Its threads were getting pulled. Any ideas why?

20141129_082250

Luckily, the puckers aren’t too noticeable. I used pinking shears on the raw edges.

20141209_205249

The skirt design went from full circle skirt with a petticoat to a simple pleated skirt becauseΒ after some thinking, I realized I would never really have an occasion to wear a super flared skirt. It was bad enough that I can’t wear this dress with a normal bra… Never again!

20141209_205415

The things I’d change:

  1. Take in the sides equally (it’s a little skewed to the left right now)
  2. Understitch!
  3. Make sure the hem is even in the front and the back

The things I learned:

  1. How to sew an all-in-one lined bodice
  2. How to sew an invisible zipper
  3. How to sew a circle skirt
  4. How to sew a pleated skirt
  5. How to use a rolled hem foot

I’d say the pros outweigh the cons πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Self-Drafted Tulip Dress

Leave a Reply

