Elliot the Whale Pattern

Almost exactly two months later, here is the pattern! It is pretty straightforward so I am going to breeze through the steps. Feel free to ask questions in the comments and I will get back to you asap.

20140826-210711-76031446.jpg
You will be making this guy!

elliot1 elliot2

Materials:

  • Fleece material for the body
  • Contrasting fabric for the belly
  • Buttons for eyes
  • Polyester filling

Steps:

  1. When cutting out the pieces, make sure to mark on the fabric where the eyes and fins go.
  2. Sew the two side pieces to the top piece right sides together, making sure the tapered end of the top piece meets up with the tail end of the side piece. When you flip this right side out, you will see the shell of the whale.
  3. Hand sew the button eyes to the marks you made. You can adjust where they go if needed.
  4. Sew the fins together then attach to the side pieces while the shell is right side out.
  5. Flip the shell inside out and line up the bottom piece wrong side out to the bottom of the shell. Pin then sew, leaving a gap so you can flip it right side out and blind stitch it closed later. (I left the gap at the mouth so I could round out the edges of it.)
  6. Flip the shell right side out, stuff with polyester filling, then blind stitch the opening.

That’s it! So easy, and fleece material hides stitches so well, it’s almost guaranteed to turn out looking great. If you use this tutorial to make a whale of your own, please share pictures!

4 thoughts on “Elliot the Whale Pattern

    1. Wow thanks so much for sharing your version! I was seriously excited to see it and I love all the details you added with the blowhole, little smile and horn 🙂

  1. This whale is adorable and I cant’ wait to make one! I will post pictures and link back whenever it is done.
    When I print the pattern, roughly what size should the pieces be? The programs I would use to print would resize, so I’m curious what I should set it to.
    Thanks!

    1. Thank you! I’m so sorry for the ridiculously delayed reply but the Side piece is roughly 8.5″ by 3.5″ – 3.5″ from the tallest point to the belly if that makes sense. If possible you should try to set the page size to 100% and not let it resize. Hope you do end up making the whale – I’d love to see it! 😀

Leave a Reply

