Refashion: Men’s Shirt → Peplum Top

Refashioning men’s button-ups is nothing new, but I love following other blogs and seeing what creative spins they put on it. Now, time for my attempt.

---

Before:

bowdressbefore
Thanks Dad!

My approach:

1) I chopped off the bottom of the shirt, from waist down, and put that aside.

2) Using a seam ripper, I removed the front pockets and sleeves.

3) Basing if off the shape on an existing fitted tank top, I resized the top half of the shirt.

4) I gathered the bottom strip of fabric, aligned it with the side seams and buttons, and joined it with the top half of the shirt.

5) When I realized the top fit well except for under the armpits, I looked up a tutorial for creating darts in a tank top (see below for link). I did not execute it well, so I needed to create something to hide those darts!

6) I quickly whipped up two bows and applied them over the darts.

After:

bowshirtbowdressafter2---

Shirt Tutorial: http://cottonandcurls.blogspot.com.br/2012/10/mens-button-up-to-womens-button-up.html

Darts Tutorial: http://hourglassy.com/2012/06/off-the-rack-sew-a-simple-fitted-tank-top/

One thought on “Refashion: Men’s Shirt → Peplum Top

Leave a Reply

